Refoaming

edited September 2013 in DIY
Oo, I'm posting in the DIY category...
Stand back folks.

I recently decided to refoam a pair of old JPW speakers (I think they're AP2s), that were given to me a few years ago. At the time the surrounds were perishing and it was suggested that to prolong their life I could put some Bison Kit contact adhesive over the cracks. This I did and it worked pretty well for a while.
I haven't used the speakers for a couple of years and they were resting in the loft. I got them down 2 weeks ago and was disappointed to find that what remained of the surrounds was beyond repair. Not wanting to discard what are 2 very nice sounding speakers I decided to attempt a "refoam".
I sourced the relevant surrounds on the internet (from Holland as it turned out) and they arrived this morning.
In preparation I had also looked at glue choices and had purchased some Elmers multi purpose glue.
To learn the craft I studied a few Youtube videos which all presented broadly similar techniques.

The process went reasonably well, with one exception.
For some reason when it came to my gluing in the first surround I made the decision to use the Bison adhesive that I had once used to hold the old surrounds together. Why I made this choice having purchased a different glue recommended for this very job, I do not know. Whatever the reason, it turned out to be a near-fatal error. The Bison glue caused the surround to ripple and distort slightly. I was only able to half-salvage the situation by judicious use of clothes pegs, that fortunately I had at the ready following one internet source that had recommended them for clamping surfaces together during drying. My panicked attempts to remove excessive glue also have left streaks over the cone. These may peel off I suppose.