Young DAC

Comments

• Bill, press the front buttons and see what rev of software it is.
  • I am definitely happier leaving my AudioMidi set to 384, and letting the DAC up-sample (or is it oversample?) everything. I no longer allow my player to select the most appropriate sample rate.

With quite a few 44.1 files there is just a alight edginess that I only really notice when it's gone thanks to the up-sampling. It's not quite crackle, nowhere near that bad, more an edge that can lead to fatigue.

So I am not a proper audiophile, 'cos I prefer this to bit-perfect!
  • Bill Hi Kennys PDX?
    Is that the hiface added to Twisted Pears DAC boards?
    Keith.
  • I am definitely happier leaving my AudioMidi set to 384, and letting the DAC up-sample (or is it oversample?) everything. I no longer allow my player to select the most appropriate sample rate.

With quite a few 44.1 files there is just a alight edginess that I only really notice when it's gone thanks to the up-sampling. It's not quite crackle, nowhere near that bad, more an edge that can lead to fatigue.

So I am not a proper audiophile, 'cos I prefer this to bit-perfect!
    I'll try that and see if I notice the same effect.
  • @coops, did that battery power supply find another home, or has postie lost it?
  • Marco emailed me this morning that he will be getting to my DAC tmrw.

Question:  Does anyone know the DAC chipset in the Young?  Seta, at digitaluadioblog, claims it's an ESS Sabre DAC but I don't think so at all.   I'd like to set him straight on that, as misinformation is not what the Young needs right now.
  • Ted - it is not the ESS chip. I think it was a BB, I'll try to see where I read that.
  • Simon (sq225917), who has had his apart, has reported it uses a BB1795.
  • Thanks.  Yeah, funny, even Seta's own blog reported that earlier.  He thanked me and said he misspoke.
  • No worries mate. When do you get yours back then?

• edited April 2011