Removing Fan from MAC Mini?

edited May 2012 in Digital
As above really, is there a way to remove the cooling fan from a MAC mini upon the installation of an internal SSD? I understand SSDs run cooler anyhow, and the computer is used almost exclusively as a music server.

I would half expect a little preogramme might be necessary to 'convince' the computer it doesn't need a fan, and most likey the addition of a little carefully placed heat-sinking somewhere inside.

Have you heard of anyone doing this before? I posted this on CA but got no bites. Its worth noting I am not really technically savvy, I can change RAM for instance, also a hard-disc change if I have good instructions.

The MAC is a 2009 model, 2.27mhz core2duo now with 8 gb RAM, running on the last version of Snow Leopard.

(I dont know why I bother really, I havent played anything in over a week now! Still, its nice to have something to plan for)

Comments

• As a stop-gap before you get the pallet knives out (dunno if newer Mac Minis are easier to get in, my original model was a bit of a pig) I suggest trying the Fan Control app from here...

Which I've used successfully on my old MacBook to stop the fan going mad. It might mean you can control it to not run apart from at very high temperatures, which is as good as having to go in and disconnect/replace it.
  • Thanks, Tenpast'

If that app does what I suspect then it will be just the ticket.

Shall get the SSD first though.

Opening it up - getting quite practised now, what with the RAM, and removing 2p coins from the optical drive...Dave's tip is to use a round pizza cutter, works v.well.

Sorry to be so brief, I'm trying to give that headless chicken a run for it's money...

Anyone actually done the SSD sans fan mod? Does it work?
  • I've removed the fan from my MAC mini 2010 when I've installed a 32GB SSD: as soon as Istarted playing music through Audirvana (no DSP, upsamling...nothing) temperature went up to 65 C. It took about 5 minutes.