Santa to bring vinyl

edited November 2013 in Analogue
Stop press:  All being well I will own a turntable by Xmas. Nothing to snazzy, just a Rega RP1 to get me going unless anyone can think of a better table for around £200?  I realise I'm opening a large can of upgrade worms but the temptation has gotten to much  :D

The Rega appeals because for a complete novice like me there seems little to setup.  It comes with arm and cart.  My preamp has an MM/MC switchable input, so I hope I'll have everything ready to go.

Comments

• PACPAC
    edited November 2013
    Project Debut Carbon for £300is a stunner and for the money the Essential 2 or Debut SE/3 are also worth a look. All come with arms and carts fitted and are factory set-up.
  • edited November 2013
    Well done James - I am about an inch from taking the same plunge myself!

I think a Thorens TD150-160 is a no brainer @ the £150 mark, it is superbly engineered and apparently capable of great things.

I was keen on a Lenco GL75 as they are so cheap, and can be incrementally improved to top class performance.

But I still want the Garrard 401 the most, as it can wallop the other 2.

It'll have to be next year now, as I'm playing with another distraction at the moment. I shall watch your adventures with vinyl with keen interest.
  • Yup. I must say that I'd probably go for a 401, too.
  • Why, is a 4012 better than a 401? ;)
  • How do we think something like a Thorens TD160 would compare with a modern Rega or Project? Trouble with the older decks is purely one of timing the purchase in line with Xmas, as it will be a present.

Thanks for your PM Paul.....will think on that.

James
  • Why, is a 4012 better than a 401? ;)
    Daft man! It's obvious it's better  8-}
  • PACPAC
    edited November 2013