Hello to all from a 30 year Claymore owner.

edited August 2016 in Say hello

I bought my Claymore in 1986, and have been using it ever since, it has served me brillianly, with only a switch clean. I bought it with a Michell Syncro, which I also still use; and it still looks beautiful to me, even after all this time. I have a Denon CD player, about 20 years old, I also use an ipod connected to a Vista Audio (Raurk) DAB and ipad dock.
I have recently bought a pr of KEF XQ 20 speakers for £500 ex display. To my ears the Claymore and XQ20's sound fantastic with vinyl, but I have noticed an almost distorted sound with digital music, nothing too awful, but noticable. Are my new speakers perhaps showing up a weak link in my system?
I wondered if a DAC would help matters? If so which one?

I am a complete novice in HiFi matters, but have always really enjoyed all sorts of different music genres. I am happy to spend some money to upgrade my system, but do not want to be sold something that is not going to help; or make things worse, by a HiFi salesman!!

Any help from you knowledgable folk would be highly appreciated.

All the best,

Cotic

Comments

• edited August 2016
    Hi @Cotic ;

Welcome to the Chews loony bin :-)

I'm not sure I have the answer to your digital problems, but I have a few thoughts and suggestions.

At 20 years old, your Denon CD player could be getting a bit knackered (Chews technical term, there) as well as digital having made considerable strides over that time. So the Denon may be being shown up.

On the other hand, your iPod is almost certainly playing lossy AAC files, which sound worse than CDs on a good system.

However, I'm not convinced either of these would cause a distorted sound. But you say 'almost distorted', so maybe your digital sources aren't up to your analogue source.

I guess the other possibility is something up with the Claymore, but that would mean two line inputs being sub-par.