Do I need a pre amp?

I've recently acquired a Linn lk85 power amp for use in my workshop/playroom. At the moment I'm using an Arcam IRDac-11 to control volume/source. I've got a CD player and a Digi+ as sources. Apart from controlling volume/source, what else will a pre amp give me? I would be very interested to hear your views.

Comments

• I haven't have a pre-amp in my main system for a few years now. It's single source, and volume is controlled in the digital domain (see sig').
    No probs, and sounds great, tho others here tell me i should try some pre-amps ...! :-p
  • I'm no expert but I do have a long todger, so maybe that gives me some credentials, I don't know.

As I understand it with no pre amp at all like the Doc, you run the risk of frying your speakers if your source sends a current it shouldn't.  It's not a huge risk, but it is a risk all the same.
    Cotic, I would have thought you would be fine as your DAC has a volume control and is therefore acting as a passive pre amp of sorts.
    The only benefit of a separate pre amp that I can think of s the fact that the pre in your DAC will use cheaper components, if you had a stand alone passive pre you could make it with some pretty swanky components for an increase in sound quality, but we are not talking night and day differences here, so it may not be worth it in the end.  It depends how much spare cash you want to throw at it.
  • sovereign said:
    As I understand it with no pre amp at all like the Doc, you run the risk of frying your speakers if your source sends a current it shouldn't.
    Where Sov lives:
    Where I live:

:P
  • Do what Mr pre'less?
  • Seriously speaking, I am aware of the theoretical risk of this happening.
    I suspect it's very unlikely. I'm not sure the One4 I have could go loud enough. Touch wood. Occasionally I have passed maximum volume on from the PC on a loud audio track. It's been significantly unpleasant, but not explosive.